Applications are invited from candidates meeting the minimum eligibility criteria for admission to PhD in Rural Development for the academic-session 2022-23.

Eligibility to Apply

  • M Sc in Economics / Agriculture, Rural and Tribal Development / Rural Development and management / allied social science subjects with minimum 55% marks or equivalent for General and 50% marks for ST / SC / OBC / Physically Handicapped candidates,
  • Successful clearance of Research Eligibility Test (RET) to be conducted by RKMVERI. Candidates with MPhil / NET / GATE / SLET / SET or equivalent will be exempted from the RET.

Areas of Research

Extension Education / Farming Systems / Horticulture / Organic Crop Protection / Rural Livelihoods / Agriculture, Rural and Tribal Development


Candidates without UGC / CSIR JRF fellowship, if found academically bright and motivated for research, may be considered for fellowship of Rs. 15,000/- per month from RKMVERI

Important dates

  • Last date to apply: 30 September, 2022
  • Entrance Test: to be announced later
  • Interview: to be announced later

How to apply

  • Online Admission Portal :
  • New applicants have to first register on the portal, then login and fill up the online application form.
  • After successfully submitting the application form, pay the Application fee (INR 700.00) online from the same Portal.
  • (While filling up the online application-form attach the scanned copies of your passport size photo, mark-sheets and other applicable certificates/documents.)
  • Download the Admit Card: Once Application-form is successfully submitted and application-fee is paid, Admit Card (also Receipt and Application-summary) will be available for download from the ‘Dashboard’ of same Portal.

Admission and Course Fees

Admission process shall begin immediately after the announcement of results. The selected candidates willing to take admission may get admitted by paying the requisite fees and submitting the requisite documents.

Fees structure is given on the page: Academic Fees Structure

For any query you may contact:

  1. Academic queries:
    • Mobile: Dr. Arunava Sengupta (), Dr. Avijit Kumar Dutta (), Dr. Vishal Walmik Dhote (), Dr. Deep Narayan Mukherjee ()
    • Email:
  2. For any technical query/issues (with online application, fee payment, etc.):
    • Mobile: Sourav Paul (), Avishek Mondal ()
    • Email: